Philippine Hoegen & Lilia Mestre & Kristien Van den Brande & Derk Byvanck

Philippine Hoegen is a visual artist with a performative practice on versioning, the apparatuses and processes we use to create version of ourselves and what that means for our understanding of 'self'. Performance is explicitly approached and activated as a research strategy: a way of thinking through doing.

Lilia Mestre is a performing artist, researcher and currently artistic coordinator of a.pass in Brussels. She is interested in art practice as a medial tool between several domains of semiotical existence, and is developing a research on scores - Scorescapes - as a possible radical pedagogy tool.

Kristien Van den Brande is an independent writer, editor, dramaturge and researcher in Brussels with an ongoing interest in the (im)materiality, image and performativity of writing. She engages with a range of disciplines including literature, performance, expanded publishing, urbanism and sexuality.

Derk Byvanck studied and practiced commercial and human rights law, worked in a prison, was Greenpeace Campaign Director in the Middle East and an Oxfam private sector and climate specialist based in Beijing. Derk has written two novels (not yet published), and now lives and works in Brussels.

Philippine Hoegen & Lilia Mestre & Kristien Van den Brande & Derk Byvanck: Hey You!

"In normal circumstances, there would have been a performance. There would have been an audience, a stage, lights would go on, action... But we have been stopped in our tracks. "

Hey You! is the metaphoric scene Althusser* used to discuss the call of authority - the policeman -  to the subject - a person in the street. The person stops short, turns to respond. Called into self-scrutiny: "what did I do?", acute self-awareness: "how am I perceived, what am I doing, what does my body, my presence, announce?" and a quick assessment of the other: "who is that who is seeing me?" This internal commotion is undergone in stasis: stopped in their tracks they stand stock still.

"We will take the opportunity of the residency at Buda to stay with the stasis, the order to which we have been called in Corona times. We - 2 performers and 2 writers - will explore through performative strategies, writing, speaking and broadcasting, how to understand what 'Hey You!' means for us now in the realm of performance, publishing and the theatrical space."

* Louis Althusser, French philosopher, 1918-1990
In residentie:
On tour:

Philippine Hoegen & Lilia Mestre & Kristien Van den Brande & Derk Byvanck

Philippine Hoegen est une artiste avec une pratique performatique sur le notion de ‘versioning’, les appareils et les processus que nous utilisons pour créer des versions de nous-mêmes et ce que cela signifie pour notre compréhension de "soi". La performance est explicitement abordée et activée comme une stratégie de recherche: une façon de penser par l'action.

Lilia Mestre est une artiste, chercheuse est actuellement coordinatrice artistique d'a.pass à Bruxelles. Elle s'intéresse à la pratique artistique en tant qu'outil médian entre plusieurs domaines de l'existence sémiotique et elle développe une recherche sur les partitions - Scorescapes - comme outil possible de pédagogie radicale.

Kristien Van den Brande est une écrivaine, éditeure, dramaturge et chercheuse indépendant à Bruxelles, qui s'intéresse en permanence à la (im)matérialité, l'image et la performativité de l'écriture. Elle s'engage à un large éventail de disciplines, dont la littérature, la performance, l'édition élargie, l'urbanisme et la sexualité.

Derk Byvanck a étudié et exercé le droit commercial et les droits de l'homme, a travaillé dans une prison, il était directeur de campagne de Greenpeace au Moyen-Orient et spécialiste du secteur privé et du climat d'Oxfam basé à Pékin. Derk a écrit deux romans (pas encore été publiés) et il vit et travaille désormais à Bruxelles.

Philippine Hoegen & Lilia Mestre & Kristien Van den Brande & Derk Byvanck: Hey You !

"Dans des circonstances normales, il y aurait eu une performance. Il y aurait eu un public, une scène, des lumières, de l'action... Mais nous avons été stoppés dans notre élan. "

Hey You ! est la scène métaphorique qu'Althusser* utilisait pour parler de l'appel de l'autorité –le policier– au sujet -–une personne dans la rue. La personne s'arrête brusquement, se retourne pour répondre. Appelé à l'auto-examen : "qu'ai-je fait ?", conscience aiguë de soi : "comment suis-je perçu, que fais-je, qu'annonce mon corps, ma présence" et une rapide évaluation de l'autre : "qui est celui qui me voit ?" Cette agitation interne est subie en stase : arrêtés dans leur élan, ces personnes restent immobiles.

"Nous profiterons de la résidence à BUDA pour rester avec la stase, l'ordre auquel nous avons été appelés à l'époque du Corona. Nous - deux performeurs et deux écrivains - explorerons à travers des stratégies performatives, l'écriture, la parole et la diffusion, pour comprendre ce que "Hey You!" signifie pour nous maintenant dans le domaine de la performance, de l'édition et de l'espace théâtral."

* Louis Althusser, philosophe français, 1918-1990
In residentie:
On tour: