Cécile Bally (FR)

Cécile Bally is a Berlin-based performance artist who graduated in dance and choreography in the HZT Berlin (Inter-University Center for Dance, UDK). She previously studied Economics and Management at the Ecole Normale Supérieure and the Pantheon Sorbonne University in France and wrote a master thesis in Decision theory on how ideas emerge and develop in dance rehearsal processes. Her artistic work is creating connections in between these two backgrounds and interrogate, with humour but always methodically, the place of rationality, magic and knowledge in Performance. 

Cécile Bally (FR): The Price is Right

The Price is Right is a choreographic study of the supermarket – what is sold and what is done in this space, how do we meet and what would we dream to encounter there. It is a critical tribute to a place that symbolizes our time. Commodities are at the centre of this space, which standardizes our way of living and creates communal references. The supermarket is a visual materialization of the concept of accumulation, it is a place for all and yet a place that segregates, there is a supermarket for every social class and every lifestyle.

Our residency in BUDA is our first collective encouter with the research. We will alternate between an under cover observation of  Kortrijk supermarkets and a studio research where we will study the relation between prices and desire, magic, dreams and nightmares and the repetitive gestures associated with this place.

The Price is Right is a new work by Cécile Bally in collaboration with the performers Cathy Walsh, Marie Ursin, Asaf Aharonson, the light designer Eva Alonso et the sound designer Jassem Hindi. The piece will premiere in November 2018 in Sophiensaele (Berlin).

 

“The big supermarket down the road is always open: all day its electric doors slide stolidly back and forth, admitting and discharging streams of people. Its neon lit space is so impersonal and so eternal that it emanates both comfort and alienation. Inside you can forget that you're not alone, or that you are." Rachel Cusk, Aftermath, 2012

In residentie:
On tour:

Cécile Bally (FR)

Cécile Bally, chorégraphe basée à Berlin a fait ses études de danse et performance à la HZT Berlin (UDK, Université des Arts Berlin). Elle a auparavant étudiée l’économie à l’Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan et a écrit son mémoire de mater en théorie de la décision sur l’émergence et le developpement des idées dans des processus de création chorégraphiques.  Son travail artistique crée des connections entre ces deux milieu et interroge avec un humour méthodique la place de la rationalité, de la magie et du savoir dans la performance.

Cécile Bally (FR): The Price is Right

The Price is Right est une observation chorégraphique d’un lieu commun, ce qu’on y vend, ce qu’on y fait, ceux qu’on y rencontre et ce qu’on rêverait d’y rencontrer. Un hommage critique au supermarché, un lieu emblématique de notre époque. Destiné à l’achat de commodités le supermarché fait office de lieu de vie publique uniformisant les modes de vie et créant des références communes. C’est un lieu pour tous et pourtant c’est un lieu qui ségrège, il y a un supermarché pour chaque classe sociale et chaque style de vie.

Notre résidence à BUDA alternera entre une observation dissimulée des supermarchés de Courtrai (inspirée par le livre d'Annie Ernaux Regarde les lumières mon amour) et une exploration dans le studio de la relation entre prix et désir, la magie, les rêves et les cauchemars qui lui sont associés et les gestes répétitifs qui le constituent.

The Price is Right est une nouvelle recherche de Cécile Bally en collaboration avec les performeurs Cathy Walsh, Marie Ursin, Asaf Aharonson, l´éclairagiste Eva Alonso et le musicien Jassem Hindi. La premiere aura lieu à Sophiensaele Berlin en Novembre 2018.

 

«L’hypermarché au bout de la route est toujours ouvert : toute la journée, ses portes automatiques coulissent dans un sens ou dans un autre, accueillent et relâchent tout un flot humain. Ses espaces éclairés au néon sont si impersonnels et si éternels qu’il en émane du bien-être autant que de l’aliénation. A l’intérieur, vous pouvez oublier que vous n’êtes pas seul ou que vous l’êtes» Rachel Cusk, Aftermath, 2012

In residentie: