Alix Dufresne (CA)

Between dance and theatre, the physical and the political, Alix Dufresne favors a sensorial and sentient approach that encourages direct conversations between bodies. Her kinesthetic language puts into perspective a discourse typically reserved for the well-versed by transferring it to a sensorial landscape. Alix is driven by the belief that political and social issues can be of interest to the public, provided they are adequately initiated to the subjects. Deeply rooted in reality, her practice stimulates discussions that range from current issues and tax havens to the lost paradise of adolescence. Her strong and confident approach which merges both sensation and eloquence makes it impossible to ignore the more troubling aspects of society.

Alix Dufresne (CA): Hidden Paradise

On February 9, 2015, economist and philosopher Alain Deneault was interviewed by Marie-France Bazzo at Radio-Canada. In a clear and straightforward manner, he explains the repercussions of tax evasion on Quebec society. “Today, when you wait for the bus at -20°, it is the consequence of tax evasion”, he says. None other than Deneault summarizes so vividly the correlation between tax evasion as it is supported by our political institutions, and the direct consequences that ensue in our daily lives.

Alix Dufresne and Marc Béland interpret the verbatim account of the interview to highlight how tax evasion affects us daily. On the fringe of documentary theatre, dance, and journalistic fiction, the project confronts theatrewith the harshness of reality and current issues, whilst magnifying the underlying semantics of the timeless and metaphorical veneer of theatrical representation.

In residentie:

Alix Dufresne (CA)

Entre la danse et le théâtre, le physique et le politique, Alix Dufresne privilégie une approche sensorielle et sentie qui fait émerger des conversations de corps à corps. Son langage kinesthésique remet en perspective le discours qui est habituellement réservé aux initiés en le transférant dans le champ du sensible. Car Alix prend le pari que les thématiques politiques et sociales peuvent intéresser le public, à condition de l’interpeller adéquatement. Elle ancre donc sa démarche profondément dans le réel pour stimuler les discussions sur des enjeux d’actualité, des paradis fiscaux aux paradis perdus de l’adolescence. Par son approche forte et assumée, qui arrime impressions physiques et orfèvrerie des mots, impossible d’éviter les aspects dérangeants de la société.

Alix Dufresne (CA): Hidden Paradise

Le 9 février 2015, l’économiste et philosophe Alain Deneault accordait une entrevue à Marie-France Bazzo à l’antenne de Radio-Canada. Il y expliquait de manière limpide et directe les conséquences de l’évasion fiscale sur la société québécoise. « Aujourd’hui, quand on attend à -20° un autobus, c’est parce qu’il y a le problème des paradis fiscaux », nous dit-il. Personne ne met en image aussi clairement la corrélation entre l’évasion fiscale supportée par nos institutions politiques et les problèmes concrets ancrés dans notre quotidien qui en découlent.

Alix Dufresne et Marc Béland reprennent le verbatim de l’entrevue afin de nous faire entendre, à leur manière, en quoi l’évasion fiscale nous affecte intimement au quotidien. À la limite du théâtre documentaire, de la danse et de la fiction journalistique, ce projet confronte la scène à une réalité brute et ancrée dans le vif d’enjeux actuels, tout en magnifiant la portée sémantique du vernis intemporel et métaphorique de la représentation.

In residentie: